Yes! This course is accepted and approved by the Virginia DMV, as well as all court systems throughout the State. Each of our instructors are licensed through AAA to conduct this course, for both Standard and CDL drivers.
We are always running specials on our class and are willing to price match most schools, as long as they are abiding by DMV's guidelines. Please contact our office with your requested class date & location for exact pricing. You'll find that in almost all localities, we are the cheapest.
Advance payment for the class is required at the time of registration. We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. PayPal makes the transaction entirely secure and you are given several options as to how you'd like to receive your receipt. You do not have to have a PayPal account to enter your form of payment.
If you need to cancel your registration altogether, you must notify us by phone by 12 Noon on the Friday before your scheduled class. A full refund will be issued. Depending on your financial institution, it may take a few business days to show up in your account. If you need to re-schedule, please let us know an alternate date that will work best for you. Again, notifying us by 12 Noon on the Friday before your scheduled class is required.
If you do not notify us by 12 Noon on the Friday before your scheduled class, that you will not be attending, we will expect to see you in class at 8am. If you fail to show up, we consider you a "no-show" and your entire course fee is forfeited and not eligible for refund. In summary, communicate with us in advance if anything changes for you, and we will do everything possible to work with you.
Class hours are 8:00am to 5:00pm. The State of Virginia requires an 8 hour driver improvement course. Any class shorter than 8 hours is not a valid class and will not be recognized by DMV or by the Courts.
We've made registering for our class as convenient as possible. Simply give us a call or send a text message to (434) 321-2282 during office hours. Sandy will be glad to get you registered. You can also click on the "Register Online" tab above. Fill in the information and click "Submit." Someone from our office (Sandy) will confirm your registration by email within 24 hours. It's that simple!
Bring with you to the class a relaxed positive attitude and a valid Driver's License or photo ID. You must provide your driver's license number or your social security number, in order to get credit for taking the class.
Yes! There are breaks throughout the day and a lunch break, as well. Lunch is on your own; however, the instructor can make recommendations if you are unfamiliar with the area. Bringing snacks, drinks, and/or lunch to the classroom is fine. We simply ask that you be courteous to the classroom environment, discarding of all trash, etc.
I wish I could say "no." However, DMV requires that you take a Summary Test before we can issue you a Certificate of Completion. You must get 80% correct in order to pass and you can re-take the test as many times as needed. (An appointment will need to be made to re-test.) The instructor will be glad to read the test aloud to you if needed. Our pass rate is 99%. If you fail the test, then we haven't done our job as instructors. Our General Rule of Thumb: "If you fail our test, park the car and do not get back in it." The test is that simple.
The course is taught by a AAA certified instructor, using the latest AAA curriculum. The majority of the instruction is done by PowerPoint presentation, making it more interactive and easier for everyone to view and understand. There will also be short video clips to watch that demonstrate proper driving techniques & summarize what we've talked about in class. Manuals are provided to each student as an additional reference. If you are looking for a dry, boring, driving class, we are not the class for you. Our instructors actually enjoy teaching the class and enjoy interacting with the students.
You will receive your Certificate of Completion on the day of the class and your attendance will be reported to DMV electronically within 24 hours. If you are Court Directed, you will need to provide your certificate to the Court by the deadline they gave you. If you are not able to deliver it in person, we recommend mailing it Certified/Return Receipt. We do not make copies of your certificate. You will receive the one and only original copy in person at the class. Please make a copy for your file at home should you need it at a later date. There is a $25 fee if we have to provide you with a new certificate.
You cannot take the course online if you have a CDL or are under age 21. Keep in mind that even if you decide to take an online course, you will still spend 8 hours in front of a computer taking the class. Each screen is timed to ensure that you do not try to get through it in shorter than 8 hours. Once done, you will then have to drive to a test location to take the final exam in person. THEN, you have to wait to receive your Certificate by mail. Seem like alot? We think so too, which is why we've drug our feet on adding this feature to our school. Come to a seated class and 8 hours later...it's over and done.
If you have been directed by the Court to take this class, you are doing so in order to have a ticket reduced or dismissed, and you will NOT receive 5 safe driving points. (DMV will not allow you to receive two benefits from the course, safe driving points AND get out of a ticket.) If you have been directed by DMV to take this class, it will be at their discretion whether or not you are eligible for safe driving points. But if you have not had this course for points in the last 2 years, you should be eligible for 5 safe driving points, if you are 18 or older. If you are taking this class voluntarily and have not received points within the last two years, you should be eligible for 5 safe driving points. The best driving record score that you can have is a +5. Safe driving points can only be awarded once every 2 years.
We take great pride in the outstanding feedback that we get from our students. One student after another tells us at the end of the day that we weren't at all what they were expecting or had experienced in the past. They refer their own children and/or friends and family members to us, which means we must be doing it right. We've been teaching this class for 16 years. All of our instructors, including the owners, have other full-time jobs. We teach because we enjoy it, not out of necessity. And what makes the day enjoyable for us?.... YOU, the student! Call (434)321-2282 and speak to Sandy. She'll be the voice answering the phone. There's no question she can't answer. Call her today!